ebuild is sad to announce its closure - it has become too time and resource intensive to develop, manage and maintain.

However, ebuild will remain on-line in archive mode (ie no posting facilties) for several weeks so that users can use it as an information resource.

Contaminated Land

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Tempt00

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 16 April 2016 - 10:58 PM

Hi All,

After taking advice from this forum we're going to view some plots tomorrow local to us even though we couldn't complete the transaction for another 6 or so months. I'm not sure how long they have been on the market but the planning permission is from 2011, with some more updates done to it in 2014, and then some last month. I'm new to all this and frankly a little confused as I can't figure out if the planning permission is even valid still - nor why the seller is bothering to submit changes to the design of the house when he isn't building them?

Anyway, the land is contaminated. I've read the report and its contaminated they think due to coal mine and an old railway. The action they want taken is 540mm of top soil applied over all of the landscaping areas.

Any views on this? I have the link for the report is anyone interested, might help you nod off to sleep! Should a first time builder on a relatively tight budget steer clear of a plot like this?

If it makes any difference, the seller has stated on the ad that they will deal with contamination if the plot is sold for the asking price - it's about £10-£15k over priced in my opinion especially if the pp has expired.

Edited by joiner, 17 April 2016 - 05:34 AM.
"first" for "fist"

#2 ferdinand

Advanced Member

• Member Blogger
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,031 posts

Posted 17 April 2016 - 04:38 AM

It's a punt, but a punt means you can win or lose depending on what happens :-).