ebuild is sad to announce its closure - it has become too time and resource intensive to develop, manage and maintain.

However, ebuild will remain on-line in archive mode (ie no posting facilties) for several weeks so that users can use it as an information resource.

Loft Floor Strengthening

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Billyblade

Billyblade

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 01 April 2016 - 02:18 PM

Hi, newbie here :)
I've just bought a 1930's semi. The loft space (accessed by a fold down ladder onto the landing) is not boarded out but I wanted to use it for storage. At the moment there are just the ceiling joists up there which are clearly not capable of supporting much weight.
If I had the floor strengthened would it need any building regs/ inspection? Would they suspect I wanted to use the room for other purposes? Bearing in mind I have just had a re-roof and Velux installed. I was also thinking of insulating under the roof tiles and boarding out with cupboards into the eaves for neat secure temperate storage.
Thanks in advance.

#2 tony51

tony51

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 774 posts

Posted 01 April 2016 - 06:59 PM

Strictly, strengthening the floor would need a Building Regulations application because it's a structural alteration. However, it's none of a BCO's business what you might do with the room subsequently. But why bother the council? Just do it.

#3 tonyshouse

tonyshouse

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,297 posts
  • LocationThames Valley

Posted 01 April 2016 - 07:35 PM

If you get caught with a floor, a velux and insulation you could get fined

Edited by joiner, 01 April 2016 - 08:41 PM.
"velux" for "velum"

#4 Nickfromwales

Nickfromwales

Short cuts take three times longer.....Fact

• Moderators
  • 8,182 posts
  • LocationSouth Wales

Posted 01 April 2016 - 10:44 PM

tony51, on 01 April 2016 - 06:59 PM, said: