ebuild is sad to announce its closure - it has become too time and resource intensive to develop, manage and maintain.

However, ebuild will remain on-line in archive mode (ie no posting facilties) for several weeks so that users can use it as an information resource.

Good Morning From A Windy Shropshire!

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 matt1234

matt1234

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 09 March 2016 - 11:22 AM

Hello everyone.
I am just applying for planning permission to self build a house to passive standards. I have been researching/designing this for over a year now. However I have recently found this forum and found it very useful. I need to do as much of the work as possible to save money. I have limited building experience- worked for about 6 months as a labourer for a couple of builders. I know builders and tradesmen, on the whole, do not get the passive principles (including the bloke I used to draw up my plan).

I aim for a passive raft slab, TF with 300mm of insulation (warmcell or frametherm), 50mmservice gap. 3G windows (help!!!!), PV-if any money left. Can not decide what to do about heating.... small woodburner appeals as have at about 4-6 years of fuel that I cleared from the site.But I am aware of the disadvantages and is the 1.5k with flue etc worth it as might not use it very often.

Anyway back to reading JS Harris's blog.......!
Cheers
Matt

#2 joiner

joiner

Advanced Member

• Moderators
  • 10,718 posts
  • LocationWest Midlands

Posted 09 March 2016 - 12:40 PM

:) Welcome.

North, south, or central?

#3 recoveringacademic

recoveringacademic

Advanced Member

• Moderators
  • 1,343 posts
  • LocationLancaster, Lancashire

Posted 09 March 2016 - 01:01 PM

Welcome!
Time for a trip up Caer Caradock then isn't it?

#4 notnickclegg

notnickclegg

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,126 posts
  • LocationHampshire/Surrey Borders

Posted 09 March 2016 - 01:27 PM

Welcome Matt!

Jack

#5 matt1234