ebuild is sad to announce its closure - it has become too time and resource intensive to develop, manage and maintain.

However, ebuild will remain on-line in archive mode (ie no posting facilties) for several weeks so that users can use it as an information resource.

Barn Conversion Costing

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 cleo123

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 06 March 2016 - 03:40 PM

Hi there!

I am a newbie to eBuild and was just wondering if you kind and knowledgeable folks could give me some advice.

I have found a converted cowshed that is for sale and was looking for some advice on the costings to convert it into a 1 bedroom barn house. The property has running water (toilet) and electricity - it has been used as a teenagers den/ wreck room for the family who owns it. I have added the dimensions of the property (Around 990 Square Foot) BELOW:

: http://www.homestyle...ee-aa0b1b1d841a

The property is stone built and fairly new (not 100 years old!), as far as I know it was a purpose built cattle shed built around 30/40 years ago so its hardly falling apart. It has 3 major wooden structural beams all of which look in good condition. The property is situated about 70/100 yards from the farm it was adjoined with a shared drive.

As I'm sure you can see, I know little about property conversion and the costings involved but just as an estimate what do you think it would cost to renovate the property into a 1 bedroom barn conversion home based on the details given.

Many thanks x

Edited by cleo123, 06 March 2016 - 03:43 PM.

#2 ProDave

Self build in the Highlands

• Moderators
  • 5,960 posts
  • LocationScottish Highlands

Posted 06 March 2016 - 04:27 PM

Hi and welcome to the forum

First thing, does the building have planning permission for residential conversion?