ebuild is sad to announce its closure - it has become too time and resource intensive to develop, manage and maintain.

However, ebuild will remain on-line in archive mode (ie no posting facilties) for several weeks so that users can use it as an information resource.

New To This And Complete Novice

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Dreaming100

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 31 January 2016 - 12:21 PM

I'm hoping to self build on a site beside my fathers where I'm currently living in a sectional wooden frame building. The issue I'm having is that the small awful shape of this ground is about 80-90 feet by about 42-45 feet of solid rock. I live at the top of a steep slope of high Rock and it slopes down towards the road which half of this is 80-90 feet is my driveway. My house is at the top of the hill and would be approx 5-6 meters high which slopes to road if you can picture what I'm describing. Hopefully the pictures make it clear.

My fathers house is built on the lower ground level and has a cliff out his back which at the top is my garden. So I'm sitting well above him. I would like to keep some of the height if possible as my house is a sun trap because we are naturally high up ( live on a small mountain) but there's a very high forest directly opposite our house on a country road so the forest blocks a lot of light to my dads but mines much better.

The length of site facing the road is the 42-45 feet and the length I can go back is the 80-90 feet. Would a site this size be enough to build on? How much is it Going to cost to dig Rock out and can I sell it to make money back?