ebuild is sad to announce its closure - it has become too time and resource intensive to develop, manage and maintain.

However, ebuild will remain on-line in archive mode (ie no posting facilties) for several weeks so that users can use it as an information resource.

Steadings Conversion In Aberdeenshire - Advice Required!

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Silbo14

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 11 January 2016 - 07:31 PM

Firstly I am a complete novice - first steading conversion.
I have experience renovating a house in Yorkshire, only interior stuff and I used contractors for most of the work, just bashed stuff out myself really to keep costs down.

I am considering converting a 200 square metre barn. Built from granite with a slate roof, has power but no water (locally available).
I have £90,000 ready, but expect it will cost more, although I have no concept of how much, I have attached a couple of pictures for interest.

Am I mad to undertake this?
Can anyone give a very rough planning figure on cost?

Thank you.

Attached Files

Edited by joiner, 11 January 2016 - 10:41 PM.
Typo "converstion" to "conversion"

#2 Roger440

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 144 posts

Posted 11 January 2016 - 07:38 PM

I have no useful advice other than to say im rather jealous:)

Just the kind of thing id love to do.

#3 Redoctober

• Member Blogger
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • LocationMilton Keynes

Posted 11 January 2016 - 07:39 PM

Hi and welcome - Looks an amazing project and depending on what it is you are looking to achieve, could well be an expensive one.

I'm sure others may pitch in with some advice and guidance but without specifics, it could be a little difficult to pin down a figure, suffice to say a good starting point is £1000 per square metre.

Hold on tight nonetheless and enjoy the ride. :)

#4 tennentslager

• Member Blogger
  • PipPipPip
  • 685 posts
  • LocationGlasgow

Posted 11 January 2016 - 07:43 PM