ebuild is sad to announce its closure - it has become too time and resource intensive to develop, manage and maintain.

However, ebuild will remain on-line in archive mode (ie no posting facilties) for several weeks so that users can use it as an information resource.

Need Help Choosing Merchant

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 neil496

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 03 December 2015 - 03:35 PM

Hi everyone,
This is my first time posting as I'm taking on my first big job by myself. I am building a garage beside my house and would like some recommendations of good building merchants to go to for materials? Not sure whether to pick a local independent or one of the big national guys (ie Travis Perkins etc). I live in the North East and have heard mixed reviews about MKM. Does anyone have experience of these guys?

Thanks in advance for any advice!

#2 tonyshouse

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,297 posts
  • LocationThames Valley

Posted 03 December 2015 - 03:47 PM

Ask three or four for prices, I would go and talk to local independent one. Watch out for high prices from the big boys especially for metal stuff. Easy to get stuff on line too I used to buy poly, bottled stuff from up your way

#3 jsharris

Please ignore all posts by me, some are erroneous

• Member Blogger
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 11,461 posts
  • LocationWiltshire/Dorset border

Posted 03 December 2015 - 07:04 PM