ebuild is sad to announce its closure - it has become too time and resource intensive to develop, manage and maintain.

However, ebuild will remain on-line in archive mode (ie no posting facilties) for several weeks so that users can use it as an information resource.

Argh...S.E Extremely Slow And Poor Communication

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#21 MrWorried

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 28 February 2015 - 06:22 PM

My background is in the motor trade that does not have the best reputation, but since I have started on the self build route I have never come across more incompetent and dishonest so called professionals that you need to help with your project.
Things for us have got so bad that after over a year working on our project and having got planning in place 6 months ago we are on the verge of giving up on the whole thing.

#22 jamiehamy

Water Tank Conversion

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 601 posts
  • LocationGourock/Largs

Posted 28 February 2015 - 06:50 PM

Not that this will help MrWorried, but one reason (Aside from the financial aspect) we decided not even to go near the Main Contractor route is that we know a couple of people who went down that route and it was not good - the latest had to sack them and managed the rest of the build herself AND brought it in well under budget.

She is pretty scathing of the work ethic of most of the tradespeople she met - I could go into details, but that would probably be a whole other thread! One particular problem however was another example of the S.E/architect issue - the S.E has specced a certain lintel and attachments - but because of the construction of the wall (porotherm), the method of attaching was not suitable and a bit of a set-to occurred between the architect and S.E. S.E blamed the architect and v.v.