ebuild is sad to announce its closure - it has become too time and resource intensive to develop, manage and maintain.

However, ebuild will remain on-line in archive mode (ie no posting facilties) for several weeks so that users can use it as an information resource.

Existing Stairs

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Dot

Dot

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 06 February 2015 - 12:49 PM

Hello I'm new to this and apologise if I'm in the wrong forum My parents are struggling with their house due to very steep stairs They go straight up and are extremely steep so they are wondering if to change them Or ideally need advice on turning the house to a bungalow. I've looked on many sites but to no avail I've got loads on bungalow to house But I'm after the opposite house to bungalow And was hoping some kind person would be able to give some advice or if anyone knows where I can get any info

#2 ProDave

ProDave

Self build in the Highlands

• Moderators
  • 5,960 posts
  • LocationScottish Highlands

Posted 06 February 2015 - 01:47 PM

The stairs are probably steeper than would be allowed today. If you have room it might be possible to replace then with a less steep flight, or fit a stair lift.

If you want to turn the house into a bungalow, all you need is to find a room you can use as a bedroom (dining room perhaps?) and arrange for a downstairs toilet and bathroom. then the rest upstairs can just be left for visiting guests.

Edited by ProDave, 06 February 2015 - 01:48 PM.

#3 Dot

Dot

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 06 February 2015 - 02:25 PM